National Book Critics Circle Award Winners Sarah Bakewell, Darin Strauss, Isabel Wilkerson

By Jane Ciabattari

Onstage to accept the National Book Critics Circle awards on March 10: Sarah Bakewell, the biography award, for How to Live, or, A Life of Montaigne in One Question and Twenty Attempts at an Answer (Other Press), reviewed by NBCC board member Steve Kellman; Isabel Wilkerson, the nonfiction award for The Warmth of Other Suns, reviewed by NBCC board member Elizabeth Taylor, and Darin Strauss, the autobiography award for Half a Life (McSweeney's), reviewed by NBCC board member Karen Long. All 31 Books in 31 Days reviews of the 2010 finalists here.

Photos by Miriam Berkley and David Shankbone (Strauss)