Reviews and More From NBCC Members

By Michael Schaub

Hello, friends! Are you considering joining the NBCC? If so, we’d love to see you at an information session/Q&A this Wednesday, June 28, at 5:00 pm Pacific. You’re welcome to

Reviews and More from NBCC Members

By Michael Schaub

Members and friends, we hope you’re having a good spring! A few quick notes: Applications for the 2023-2024 Emerging Critics Fellowship are due Friday, May 5, by 11:59 PM Pacific.

Elaine Katzenberger at podium with photo of Lawrence Ferlinghetti projected on screen.

Awards: An Interview with Elaine Katzenberger

By Maisie Wiltshire-Gordon

The NBCC is proud to confer the 2022 Toni Morrison Achievement Award to City Lights Booksellers & Publishers, recognizing their commitment to literary culture, social justice, and intellectual inquiry. City

Accepting award at podium

Awards: The Real Me

By Jennifer Wilson

Nona Balakian Citation Acceptance Speech Someone asked me what I was going to use the prize money for, and I said I was going to hire a body double to

Joy Harjo with trophy

Awards: Accepting the Ivan Sandrof Award

By Joy Harjo

Thank you, or mvto in our Mvskoke language. I am honored to be standing here before you, in person, to accept this honor for a lifetime of mischief, I mean

President of City Lights accepting speech at podium with photo advertising "Banned Books" projected in background.

Awards: City Lights, Still Fighting the Fight

By Elaine Katzenberger

The NBCC’s 2022 Toni Morrison Achievement Award went to City Lights, the San Francisco bookstore and publisher. Thank you to the board and the members of the National Book Critics

Photo of Barbara Hoffert holding trophy

Awards: Saluting Barbara Hoffert

By Eric Banks

Since it was founded nearly five decades ago, the National Book Critics Circle has relied on the hard, and unremunerated, work of its members, particularly those elected to serve on