Video: 2018 National Book Critics Circle Awards

by David Varno | Mar-15-2019

The 2018 National Book Critics Circle Awards were presented at the New School on March 14, 2019. Here are the recipients in order of presentation. 


The John Leonard Prize
Tommy Orange, There There (Knopf)

The Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing
Maureen Corrigan

The Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award
Arte Público

Ada Limón, The Carrying (Milkweed)

Zadie Smith, Feel Free: Essays (Penguin Press)

Nora Krug, Belonging: A German Reckons With History and Home (Scribner)

Christopher Bonanos, Flash: The Making of Weegee the Famous (Henry Holt & Company)

Steve Coll, Directorate S: The C.I.A. and America’s Secret Wars in Afghanistan (Penguin Press)

Anna Burns, Milkman (Graywolf)

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Make a tax deductible donation to the NBCC Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.