The National Book Critics Circle Award

Each year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English in six categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.

1994 Winners & Finalists

Fiction Winner

  • Carol Shields, The Stone Diaries (Viking)

Fiction Finalists

  • Alan Isler, The Prince of West End Avenue (Bridge Works)
  • Julius Lester, And All Our Wounds Forgiven (Arcade)
  • William Gaddis, A Frolic of His Own (Poseidon/Simon & Schuster)
  • Julia Alvarez, In the Time of the Butterflies (Algonquin)

General Nonfiction Winner

  • Lynn Nicholas, The Rape of Europa (Knopf)

General Nonfiction Finalists

  • Jane Mayer & Jill Abramson, Strange Justice (Houghton Mifflin)
  • Abraham Verghese, My Own Country (Simon & Schuster)
  • Sherwin Nuland, How We Die (Knopf)
  • John Demos, The Unredeemed Captive (Knopf)

Biography/Autobiography Winner

  • Mikal Gilmore, Shot in the Heart (Doubleday)

Biography/Autobiography Finalists

  • Julia Frey, Toulouse-Lautrec (Viking)
  • Brenda Maddox, D.H. Lawrence (Simon & Schuster)
  • Edward O. Wilson, Naturalist (Island Press)
  • Neal Gabler, Winchell (Knopf)

Poetry Winner

  • Mark Rudman, Rider (Wesleyan/New England)

Poetry Finalists

  • Dorianne Laux, What We Carry (BOA Editions)
  • Marilyn Hacker, Winter Numbers (Norton)
  • Philip Levine, The Simple Truth (Knopf)
  • Mary Jo Salter, Sunday Skaters (Knopf)

Criticism Winner

  • Gerald Early, The Culture of Bruising (Ecco)

Criticism Finalists

  • Jahan Ramazani, Poetry of Mourning (University of Chicago)
  • Harold Bloom, The Western Canon (Harcourt Brace)
  • Katha Pollitt, Reasonable Creatures (Knopf)
  • Anne Hollander, Sex and Suits (Knopf)

Nona Balakian Excellence in Reviewing Award Winner

  • JoAnn Gutin

Ivan Sandrof Award for Lifetime Achievement in Publishing Winner

  • William Maxwell