The National Book Critics Circle Award

Each year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English in six categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.

1993 Winners & Finalists

Fiction Winner

  • Ernest J. Gaines, A Lesson Before Dying  (Knopf)

Fiction Finalists

  • E. Annie Proulx, The Shipping News (Scribners)
  • Bobbie Ann Mason, Feather Crowns (Harper)
  • Frances Sherwood, Vindication (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • Rikki Ducornet, The Jade Cabinet (Dalkey Archive Press)

General Nonfiction Winner

  • Alan Lomax, The Land Where the Blues Began (Pantheon)

General Nonfiction Finalists

  • Rosemary Mahoney, Whoredom in Kimmage: Irish Women Coming of Age (Houghton Mifflin)
  • George B. Schaller, The Last Panda (Chicago)
  • Russ Rymer, Genie: An Abused Child’s Flight From Silence (Harper)
  • David Remnick, Lenin’s Tomb: The Last Days of the Soviet Empire (Random House)

Biography/Autobiography Winner

  • Edmund White, Genet (Knopf)

Biography/Autobiography Finalists

  • James Merrill, A Different Person (Knopf)
  • James Miller, The Passion of Michael Foucault (Simon & Schuster)
  • Alice Kaplan, French Lessons (Chicago)
  • David Levering Lewis, DuBois: Biography of a Race (Holt)

Poetry Winner

  • Mark Doty, My Alexandria (University of Illinois Press)

Poetry Finalists

  • Donald Hall, The Museum of Clear Ideas (Ticknor & Fields)
  • Linda Hogan, The Book of Medicines (Coffee House Press)
  • Audre Lorde, The Marvelous Arithmetic of Distance (W.W. Norton)
  • Jack Marshall, Sesame (Coffee House Press)

Criticism Winner

  • John Dizikes, Opera in America: A Cultural History (Yale)

Criticism Finalists

  • Wayne Koestenbaum, The Queen’s Throat (Poseidon)
  • Geoffrey O’Brien, The Phantom Empire (Norton)
  • Mark Rose, Authors and Owners: The Invention of Copyright (Harvard)
  • Gore Vidal, United States: Essays 1952-1992 (Random House)

Nona Balakian Excellence in Reviewing Award Winner

  • Brigitte Frase