The National Book Critics Circle Award

Each year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English in six categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.

1995 Winners & Finalists

Fiction Winner

  • Stanley Elkin, Mrs. Ted Bliss (Hyperion)

Fiction Finalists

  • Richard Ford, Independence Day (Knopf)
  • Richard Powers, Galatea 2.2 (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • Jane Smiley, Moo (Knopf)
  • Paul West, The Tent of Orange Mist (Scribner)

General Nonfiction Winner

  • Jonathan Harr, A Civil Action (Random House)

General Nonfiction Finalists

  • Nicholas Basbanes, A Gentle Madness: Bibliophiles, Bibliomanes, and the Eternal Passion for Books (Holt)
  • Madeleine Blais, In These Girls, Hope Is a Muscle (Atlantic)
  • Fox Butterfield, All God’s Children: The Bosket Family and the American Tradition of Violence (Knopf)
  • Lawrence Weschler, Mr. Wilson’s Cabinet of Wonder (Pantheon)

Biography/Autobiography Winner

  • Robert Polito, Savage Art: A Biography of Jim Thompson (Knopf)

Biography/Autobiography Finalists

  • John Hockenberry, Moving Violations: War Zones, Wheelchairs and Declarations of Independence (Hyperion)
  • Mary Karr, The Liars’ Club (Viking)
  • David S. Reynolds, Walt Whitman’s America (Knopf)
  • Robert Richardson Jr., Emerson: The Mind on Fire (California)

Poetry Winner

  • William Matthews, Time & Money (Houghton Mifflin)

Poetry Finalists

  • Lynda Hull, The Only World (Harper)
  • James Merrill, A Scattering of Salts (Knopf)
  • Carl Phillips, Cortege (Graywolf)
  • Ellen Bryant Voigt, Kyrie (Norton)

Criticism Winner

  • Robert Darnton, The Forbidden Bestsellers of Pre-Revolution France (Norton)

Criticism Finalists

  • Stanley Crouch, The All-American Skin Game, or The Decoy of Race: The Long and the Short of It, 1990-1994 (Pantheon)
  • Thomas M. Disch, The Castle of Indolence: On Poetry, Poets and Poetasters (Picador)
  • John Felstiner, Paul Celan: Poet, Survivor, Jew (Yale University Press)
  • Clifford Geertz, After the Fact (Harvard University Press)

Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing Winner

  • Laurie Stone

NBCC/Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

  • Alfred Kazin
  • Elizabeth Hardwick