The National Book Critics Circle Award

Each year, the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books published in English in six categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.

1992 Winners & Finalists

Fiction Winner

  • Cormac McCarthy, All the Pretty Horses (Knopf)

Fiction Finalists

  • Randall Kenan, Let the Dead Bury Their Dead (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich)
  • Joyce Carol Oates, Black Water (Dutton)
  • Richard Price, Clockers (Houghton Mifflin)
  • Robert Stone, Outerbridge Reach (Ticknor & Fields)

General Nonfiction Winner

  • Norman Maclean, Young Men and Fire (University of Chicago Press)

General Nonfiction Finalists

  • Michael D. Coe, Breaking the Maya Code (Thames & Hudson)
  • Donald Katz, Home Fires: An Intimate Portrait of One Middle-Class Family in Postwar America (HarperCollins)
  • Nancy Scheper-Hughes, Death Without Weeping: The Violence of Everyday Life in Brazil (University of California Press)
  • Edward O. Wilson, The Diversity of Life (Harvard University Press)

Biography/Autobiography Winner

  • Carol Brightman, Writing Dangerously: Mary McCarthy and Her World (Clarkson N. Potter)

Biography/Autobiography Finalists

  • Jack Beatty, The Rascal King: The Life and Times of James Michael Curley, 1874-1958 (Addison-Wesley)
  • Paul Hendrickson, Looking for the Light: The Hidden Life and Art of Marion Post Wolcott (Knopf)
  • Walter Isaacson, Kissinger (Simon & Schuster)
  • David McCullough, Truman (Simon & Schuster)

Poetry Winner

  • Hayden Carruth, Collected Shorter Poems 1946-1991 (Copper Canyon Press)

Poetry Finalists

  • David Ferry, Gilgamesh (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
  • Maxine Kumin, Looking for Luck (W.W. Norton)
  • Sharon Olds, The Father (Knopf)
  • K.C. Williams, A Dream of Mine (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

Criticism Winner

  • Garry Wills, Lincoln at Gettysburg: The Words That Remand America (Simon & Schuster)

Criticism Finalists

  • Frederick Crews, The Critics Bear It Away: American Fiction and the Academy (Random House)
  • Dana Gioia, Can Poetry Matter? Essays on Poetry and American Culture (Graywolf Press)
  • Susan Griffin, A Chorus of Stones: The Private Life of War (Doubleday)
  • Wallace Stegner, Where the Bluebird Sings to the Lemonade Springs: Living and Writing in the West (Random House)

Nona Balakian Excellence in Reviewing Award Winner

  • Elizabeth Ward

Ivan Sandrof Award Winner

  • Gregory Rabassa