REMINDER: Follow the NBCC Finalists Announcement Tomorrow Night on Twitter


We hope you can join the NBCC Saturday night at 6:30 p.m., at Artists Space (38 Grand Street in New York) to celebrate the announcement of the finalists for the National Book Critics Circle Awards for publishing year 2011 as well as the recipients of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award and the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing. But if you're unable to join us in person, follow us on Twitter @bookcritics (hashtag #nbcc) as we unveil this year's finalists.

Among this year’s presenters are recent NBCC finalists and winners Jennifer Egan (fiction), Siddhartha Mukherjee (nonfiction), Elif Batuman (criticism), Kathleen Graber (poetry), Yunte Huang (biography), Darin Strauss (autobiography), and Parul Sehgal (Nona Balakian Citation). The event is free and open to the public (drinks and hors d'oeuvre will be served).

Founded in 1974, the NBCC is a nonprofit organization that honors outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature, in part through our annual awards. Books are directly nominated and chosen by leading book critics and reviewers. The NBCC thus offers the unique opportunity for professional critics to recognize and reward literary excellence.This year’s awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, March 8, at 6:00 p.m. at the New School’s Tishman Auditorium in New York.

For more information, contact