NBCC Award Winners 2007


NBCC member Photo credit: Miriam Berkley shot this group portrait of the winners of the NBCC 2007 awards. From left,Tim Jeal, NBCC award winner in biography for “Stanley: The Impossible Life of Africa’s Greatest Explorer” (Yale University Press), Mary Jo Bang, NBCC award winner in poetry for “Elegy” (Gray Wolf PresS), Alex Ross,NBCC award winner in criticism for “The Rest Is Noise” (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), Edwidge Danticat,NBCC award winner in autobiography (Knopf), Emilie Buchwald of Milkweed Press, winner of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award; Sam Anderson,winner of the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing, and Margaret Washington, NBCC award winner in nonfiction for “Medical Apartheid: The Dark History of Medical Experimentation on Black Americans from Colonial Times to the Present (Doubleday). Not pictured, NBCC award winner in fiction, Junot Diaz, author of “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” (Riverhead Books).

Photo credit: Miriam Berkley