Critical Mass

Ranking the Pushcart Prize Pubs

By Jane Ciabattari

NBCC member Cliff Garstang ranks the winners and Special Mentions in this years’ Pushcart Prize anthology, just out.

Pushcart founder Bill Henderson, winner of an NBCC Sandrof award for lifetime achievement, will be with us on Saturday night, January 24, 2009, at Housing Works, to announce the NBCC Sandrof award winner. Others expected, to announce the Balakian winner and NBCC awards finalists: Sam Anderson, 2008 Balakian winner;Mary Jo Bang, 2008 poetry winner; Harriet Washington, 2008 nonfiction winner; Alex Ross, 2008 criticism winner, and Joshua Clark, 2008 finalist in autobiography.