The Roger Shattuck Conference on the Future of Criticism

April 17, 2010 3:00 pm
The Center for Fiction
17 East 47th Street New York, NY

The Roger Shattuck Conference on the Future of Criticism at the Center for
Fiction, 17 East 47th Street, April 17, 1 pm. 

NBCC members please note: This conference is free, but because of limited
space, RSVP required to The Center won’t let
anyone in who is not registered. 

The Future of Criticism
                  April 17, 2010

    1:00-1:10pm Film on Roger Shattuck
    1:10 -1:30pm     Robert Weil remembers Roger Shattuck

    1;30-1:45pm     Presentation of Shattuck Awards for Criticism

    1:45–2:45pm Provocation:  Literary Criticism Today

            Conversation between Daniel Mendelsohn & Thomas Mallon

            Introduced by:  Noreen Tomassi
    2:45-3:00pm Break

    3:00-4:15pm Panel— Criteria & Approaches

            Christopher Ricks, Denis Donoghue, Liesl Schillinger

                    Moderator:  Morris Dickstein

    4:15-4:30pm Break

    4:30-5:45pm Panel—The Future of Criticism

                Jed Perl, Maud Newton, John Freeman

                Moderator:  Jane Ciabattari

    5:45-6:30pm Closing Comments:  Shattuck, Proust, and The Future

                Conversation between Michel Braudeau, Editor,
Nouvelle Revue

                Française &  Lorin Stein, The Paris Review

Wine and Cheese Reception Following

Provocation: Literary Criticism Today
Thomas Mallon’s, Auhor of seven novels, including Henry and Clara, Bandbox
and Fellow Travelers and non-fiction books on plagiarism, diaries, letters
and the Kennedy assassination, as well as two volumes of essays (Rockets
and Rodeos and In Fact). His work appears in The New Yorker, The Atlantic
Monthly, The New York Times Book Review and other publications; has taught
at Vassar College, the George Washington University and the Bread Loaf
Writers’ Conference. The recipient of Guggenheim and Rockefeller
fellowships, as well as the National Book Critics Circle award for
reviewing, he has been literary editor of Gentlemen’s Quarterly and deputy
chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Daniel Mendelsohn. Award-winning author of six books, critic, and
contributor to The New Yorker, The New York Times, New York, The New York
Review of Books, The Paris Review among others. He is the recipient of the
National Book Critics Circle Award for Excellence in Review, and the George
Jean Nathan Prize for Drama Criticism, and the Guggenheim Foundation

Panel – Criteria & Approaches
Dr. Morris Dickstein. Literary and cultural critic and author, currently
the Distinguished Professor of English and Theater at the Graduate Center
of City University of New York.

Dr. Denis Donoghue. The Henry James Professor in English and American
Letters at New York Univeristy, Chair of the American Academy of Arts and
Sciences’ Nominating Committee, and a Fellow with the British Academy, the
American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Council of Learned
Societies, his most recent books is On Eloquence.

Dr. Christopher Ricks. William M. and Sara B. Warren Professor of the
Humanities at Boston University, co-director of the Editorial Institute
and a Professor of Poetry at Oxford; editor, critical writer and former
president of the Association of Literary Scholars and Critics.

Liesl Schillinger. Literary critic and regular contributor for the New
York Times Book Review.

Panel – The Future Of Criticism
Jane Ciabattari. President of the National Book Critics Circle, a blogger
on Critical Mass and the author of the short-story collection Stealing The

John Freeman. Former president of the National Book Critics Circle and a
prolific book reviewer, currently the American editor of Granta.

Maud Newton. Writer, critic and blogger, whose blog and work has been
sited in The New York Times Book Review, New York Magazine, The New Yorker
and Bookforum, among many others.

Jed Perl. Writer and art critic for The New Republic and author of many
books including Paris Without End: On French Art Since World War I, and
most recently Antoine’s Alphabet: Watteau and His World and New Art City:
Manhattan at Mid-Century.


Closing Comments: Shattuck, Proust and the Future
Michel Braudeau. Novelist, former book critic at L’Express, editor at Le
Monde. Currently, Editor-in-Chief of La Nouvelle Revue française; author
of Flight of the Monarch (and Other Reflections) a book of essays.

Lorin Stein. Senior editor at Farrar, Strauss & Giroux, whose authors
include Richard Price, Denis Johnson, recent translations of Roberto
Bolano, Jonathan Franzen, Jefferey Eugenides, among many other prominent
writers; recently named editor of the Paris Review.


Make a tax deductible donation to the NBCC Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Upcoming Events

NBCC at the Brooklyn Book Festival: Brooklyn & Philosophy: September 20th, 2019

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.