Board of Directors

Log in

Committess

The National Book Critics Circle Board of Directors is elected each year, with participants serving three-year terms. Contact information and full board member bios on the left, and committee lists below.

Please see our Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting board members with NBCC-related questions.

Interested in joining the board? Please read our guidelines.

ATTENTION PUBLISHERS: Please see guidelines and information on submitting titles.

Autobiography

Mark Athitakis, Chair
Anjali Enjeti
Laurie Hertzel
Jessica Loudis
Katherine A. Powers
Carlin Romano
Elizabeth Taylor
Kate Tuttle
Marion Winik

Biography

Elizabeth Taylor, Chair
Gregg Barrios
Mary Ann Gwinn
Laurie Hertzel
John McWhorter
Katherine Powers
Carlin Romano
Michael Schaub
Madeleine Schwartz
Kate Tuttle

Criticism

Kerri Arsenault, Chair
Victoria Chang
Anjali Enjeti
Ismail Muhammad
Walton Muyumba
Carlin Romano
Madeleine Schwartz
Elizabeth Taylor
Tess Taylor
David Varno

Fiction

Charlie Finch, Chair
Kerri Arsenault
Lori Feathers
Mary Ann Gwinn
Carolyn Kellogg
Ismail Muhammad
Walton Muyumba
Carlin Romano
Michael Schaub
Elizabeth Taylor
David Varno
Marion Winik

General Nonfiction

Kate Tuttle, Chair
Kerri Arsenault
Gregg Barrios
Jessica Loudis
John McWhorter
Walton Muyumba
Carlin Romano
Elizabeth Taylor
Tess Taylor
David Varno
Hope Wabuke

Poetry

Tess Taylor, Chair
Mark Athitakis
Victoria Chang
Anjali Enjeti
Lori Feathers
Charles Finch
Carolyn Kellogg
Ismail Muhammad
Walton Muyumba
Carlin Romano
Hope Wabuke

Board Members

Laurie Hertzel, NBCC President
Minneapolis Star Tribune/NBCC
650 3rd Avenue South
Suite 1300
Minneapolis, MN 55488
lauriehertzel@gmail.com

Kerri Arsenault, NBCC VP/Communications
PO Box 96
Roxbury CT 06783
kerri.arsenault@bookcritics.org

Anjali Enjeti, NBCC VP/Membership
11014 Taconic Way
Johns Creek, GA 30097
shestartedit@gmail.com

Carolyn Kellogg, NBCC VP/Online
P.O. Box 5132
Montgomery, AL 36103
USPS only! NO FedEx or UPS accepted.
carolynkellogg.writes@gmail.com

Carlin Romano, NBCC VP/Events
University of Pennsylvania
Annenberg School for Communication
3620 Walnut St.a
Philadelphia PA 19104
cromano@bookcritics.org

Kate Tuttle, NBCC VP/Awards
43 Ardsley Rd.
Montclair NJ
07042
Kate.tuttle@gmail.com

David Varno, NBCC VP/Tech
Publishers Weekly/NBCC
71 W. 23rd Street, Suite 1608
New York, NY, 10010
davidvarno@bookcritics.org

Marion Winik, NBCC VP/Treasurer
4600 Keswick Rd.
Baltimore MD 21210
maliwali@aol.com


Mark Athitakis, NBCC Deputy Online
Freelance critic
21 S. Rita Lane
Chandler, AZ 85226
mathitak@gmail.com

Gregg Barrios
Freelance Writer/Critic
304 E Courtland Pl
San Antonio, TX 78212
greggbarrios@bookcritics.org

Victoria Chang
Antioch University
400 Corporate Pointe
Culver City, CA 90230
chang_victoria@hotmail.com

Lori Feathers
3030 McKinney Ave. #2105
Dallas, TX 75204
lori@interabangbooks.com

Charles Finch
1832 N. Berendo St.
Los Angeles, CA 90027
charlesfinch3@gmail.com

Mary Ann Gwinn
Books Columnist, Seattle Times
7814 39th Avenue SW
Seattle, WA 98136
mgwinn@bookcritics.org

Jessica Loudis
476 Clinton Avenue, 2A
Brooklyn, NY 11238
jloudis@gmail.com

John McWhorter
33-27 80th St., #31
Jackson Heights, NY 11372
jhmcwhorter5@gmail.com

Ismail Muhammad
1066 56th St., Apartment A
Oakland, CA 94608
ismailmuhammad03@gmail.com

Walton Muyumba
Indiana University
Ballantine Hall 442
1020 E. Kirkwood Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47407
wmuyumba@gmail.com

Katherine A. Powers
424 Pelham Hill Road
Shutesbury MA 01072
kapow3@gmail.com

Michael Schaub
503A W. North Loop Blvd.
Austin TX 78751
mschaubtx@gmail.com

Madeline Schwartz
madeleineschwartz@gmail.com

Tess Taylor
336 Ramona Ave
El Cerrito, CA 94530
tess_taylor@mac.com

Elizabeth Taylor
2821 N. Pinegrove
Chicago IL 60657
etaylornbcc@gmail.com

Hope Wabuke
Attn: Hope Wabuke
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Department of English
625 N. 14th Street
Andrews Hall 202
Lincoln, NE 68588-0333
hope.wabuke@gmail.com