2010 Awards

March, 2011

Roundup: 2010 National Book Critics Circle Awards Coverage

by Mark Athitakis (membership) | Mar-28-2011

The National Book Critics Circle awards received plenty of media attention. But one article, for better or for worse, attracted the most notice. The Los...read »

National Book Critics Circle Award Winners Sarah Bakewell, Darin Strauss, Isabel Wilkerson

by Jane Ciabattari | Mar-18-2011

Onstage to accept the National Book Critics Circle awards on March 10: Sarah Bakewell, the biography award, for How to Live, or, A Life of Montaigne in...read »

National Book Critics Circle Award Winners C.D. Wright, Jennifer Egan,Clare Cavanagh

by Jane Ciabattari | Mar-17-2011

Onstage to accept awards at the National Book Critics Circle's March 10 ceremony were C.D. Wright, in poetry, for One with Others: [a little book of her...read »

William Gass: In Praise of John O’Brien and Dalkey Archive Press

by William Gass | Mar-15-2011

Multiple NBCC award winner William Gass, a Dalkey Archive author, was on hand at the NBCC awards ceremony March 10 to honor Sandrof lifetime achievement...read »

Scott McLemee on Balakian Winner Parul Sehgal

by Scott McLemee | Mar-15-2011

Balakian award winner Scott McLemee, for three years chair of the Balakina committee, welcomes the newest Balakian honoree, Parul Sehgal: Next month...read »

Guest Post: Balakian Award Winner Parul Sehgal Accepts

by Parul Sehgal | Mar-15-2011

This year's Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing, to Parul Sehgal, whose remarks are here: I’m a bit overwhelmed. And I must confess that I’m...read »

NBCC Awards Night: President’s Welcome

by Jane Ciabattari | Mar-12-2011

Thank you Robert. Robert Polito is a National Book award winner himself, for his biography of Jim Thompson. Thank you The New School; we value our ongoing...read »

Page 1 of 2 pages     1 2 > 

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics Make a tax deductible donation to the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.

The postings on this blog represent the views and opinions of each individual poster and are not representative of views held by the National Book Critics Circle as an organization, or the NBCC board as a whole. Everything on this blog is copyright protected

Online Committee

Additional Contributors