Nominations for NBCC’s Sandrof Award for Lifetime Achievement Due November 30

by Jane Ciabattari | Nov-16-2013

The Ivan  Sandrof Award honors a lifetime of significant contributions to the literary culture and American letters. Any member of the NBCC is entitled to make a nomination. Previous honorees have included notable individuals (Sandra Gilbert, Susan Gubar, Robert Silvers, Joyce Carol Oates, John Leonard, Leslie Fiedler, Alfred Kazin) and notable institutions (Dalkey Archive Press, PEN American Center, Library of America). Nominations should include a brief (approximately five sentences) explanation of why the nominee deserves recognition with the Sandrof Award. The deadline for nominations is November 30. Please submit your ideas, along with a few sentences about why the proposed candidate should be considered for the awards, to Steven G. Kellman at, and please include a paragraph explaining why you think a particular person or institution warrants recognition by the NBCC.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Make a tax deductible donation to the NBCC Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.