NBCC Reads: Sarah Sarai Picks Louis Simpson

by By Sarah Sarai | Nov-14-2013

What is your favorite National Book Critics Circle finalist of all time? The first NBCC winners, honored in 1975 for books published in 1974, were E.L. Doctorow (Ragtime, fiction), John Ashbery (Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror, poetry), R.W.B. Lewis for his biography of Edith Wharton, and Paul Fussell (The Great War and Modern Memory, criticism). In 2014 the National Book Critics Circle prepares to celebrate nearly forty years of the best work selected by the critics themselves, and also to launch the new John Leonard award for first book. So we're looking back at the winners and finalists, all archived on our website, and we've asked our members and former honorees to pick a favorite. Here's the twenty-second of dozens of choices in our latest in six years of NBCC Reads surveys.

Even though I would walk barefoot to Brazil and back, a penitente for Elizabeth Bishop and Geography III (FSG), my connection to the work of Louis Simpson (Searching for the Ox, Morrow) is heartpounding--his sweet capture of an omnipresent sense of failure says, "Hey, you, I'm home." I discovered him eight years after Bishop won the NBCC award, through a glorious poem in The Kenyon Review.

Sarah Sarai is a poet (The Future Is Happy from BlazeVOX books, 2009) and critic. Her work has appeared in Antigonish Review, Big City Lit, Boston Review, Cordite Poetry Review, EOAGH, Fairy Tale Review, Fiction At Work, Fifth Wednesday Journal, Fine Madness, Flaneur Foundry, Folly Magazine, Frigg Magazine, GHOTI, Minnesota Review, MiPOesias, Mississippi Review, Pank, Parthenon West Review, Potomac Review, Ragazine, Raven Chronicles, Red Peter, Redheaded Stepchild, South Dakota Review, Sprung Formal, Stained Sheets, Stet, Stone's Throw, Storyglossia, Tampa Review, The Writing Disorder, Threepenny Review, Tipton Poetry Journal, VerbSap.com, Weber Studies, Webster Review, West, West Wind Review, Willows Wept Review, Zyzzyva.

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Tickets for Benefit Reception

Following the Awards Ceremony, March 14, 2019
Become a Member of the NBCC

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Upcoming Events

NBCC Finalists’ Reading: March 13th, 2019

NBCC Awards Ceremony and Reception: March 14th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 with Paul Beatty and Joan Silber: March 28th, 2019

NBCC at AWP19 The Future of Criticism: A Conversation with Established and Emerging Critics: March 30th, 2019

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.