NBCC Award Winners 2007

by admin | Mar-07-2008

NBCC member Photo credit: Miriam Berkley shot this group portrait of the winners of the NBCC 2007 awards. From left,Tim Jeal, NBCC award winner in biography for “Stanley: The Impossible Life of Africa’s Greatest Explorer” (Yale University Press), Mary Jo Bang, NBCC award winner in poetry for “Elegy” (Gray Wolf PresS), Alex Ross,NBCC award winner in criticism for “The Rest Is Noise” (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), Edwidge Danticat,NBCC award winner in autobiography (Knopf), Emilie Buchwald of Milkweed Press, winner of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award; Sam Anderson,winner of the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing, and Margaret Washington, NBCC award winner in nonfiction for “Medical Apartheid: The Dark History of Medical Experimentation on Black Americans from Colonial Times to the Present (Doubleday). Not pictured, NBCC award winner in fiction, Junot Diaz, author of “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” (Riverhead Books).

Photo credit: Miriam Berkley

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Make a tax deductible donation to the NBCC Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.