2007 NBCC Winners Announced

by admin | Mar-07-2008

The blog will be a bit quiet for the next few days:  Today the NBCC board of directors holds its first meeting of the 2008 season to welcome new board members, elect a new president, establish a new blogging committee, begin discussing 2008 books, and much more.  The board will be in meetings and in transit for several days, so expect slowness here until sometime next week as we get the new blogging committee up and running. 

In the meantime, here is the list of this years winners and finalists: 

Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: Emilie Buchwald
Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing:  Sam Anderson


2007 Winner:  The Rest is Noise, by Alex Ross

2007 Finalists:
Joan Acocella, Twenty-Eight Artists and Two Saints: Essays
Julia Alvarez, Once Upon a Quinceañera: Coming of Age in the USA
Susan Faludi, The Terror Dream: Fear and Fantasy in Post-9/11 America
Ben Ratliff, Coltrane: The Story of a Sound


2007 Winner:  Elegy, by Mary Jo Bang

2007 Finalists:
Matthea Harvey, Modern Life
Michael O’Brien, Sleeping and Waking
Tom Pickard, The Ballad of Jamie Allan
Tadeusz Różewicz, New Poems, trans. by Bill Johnston


2007 Winner:  Stanley, the Impossible Life of Africa’s Greatest Explorer, by Tim Jeal

2007 Finalists: 
Hermione Lee, Edith Wharton
Arnold Rampersad, Ralph Ellison: A Biography
John Richardson, The Life of Picasso: The Triumphant Years, 1917–1932
Claire Tomalin, Thomas Hardy

General Nonfiction

2007 Winner:  Medical Apartheid, by Harriet Washington

2007 Finalists:
Philip Gura, American Transcendentalism: A History
Daniel Walker Howe, What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America 1815-1848
Tim Weiner, Legacy of Ashes: A History of the CIA
Alan Weisman, The World Without Us


2007 Winner: Edwidge Danticat, Brother, I’m Dying

2007 Finalists:
Joshua Clark, Heart Like Water: Surviving Katrina and Life in Its Disaster Zone
Joyce Carol Oates, The Journals of Joyce Carol Oates, 1973–1982
Sara Paretsky, Writing in an Age of Silence
Anna Politkovskaya, Russian Diary: A Journalist’s Final Account of Life, Corruption and Death in Putin’s Russia


2007 Winner:  The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz

2007 Finalists: 
Vikram Chandra, Sacred Games
Hisham Matar, In the Country of Men
Joyce Carol Oates, The Gravedigger’s Daughter
Marianne Wiggins, The Shadow Catcher

About the Critical Mass Blog

Commentary on literary criticism, publishing, writing, and all things NBCC related. It's written by independent members of the NBCC Board of Directors (see list of bloggers below).


Categories & Archives

Make a tax deductible donation to the NBCC Join the NBCC/Renew
Emerging Critics

NBCC Awards

Finalists for 2018

See all award winners

Find out how to submit

Read how we select

Frequently Asked Questions

Videos and Podcasts

NBCC 2018 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Awards Ceremony

NBCC 2017 Finalists Reading

All videos and podcasts.